Ms Chen Shu, Superintendent

From a bilingual program to one of the world's best Chinese-English bilingual school

As a principal and a parent of a 24-year-old boy with domestic and foreign education background, I deeply feel it is one of the most important decision for the parents to choose a school for the children. Every parent wants to find a high-quality school which provides excellent academic environments, respects individual differences, and helps their children to unleash the unlimited potential in the physical, mental and moral aspects.


I have been looking for methods to maximize students' language potential in almost 20 years. In 2005, a group of return families advised me to develop a series of international curriculum, which combines the eastern and western education essences, helps to achieve the bilingual language teaching, and cultivates truly international talents. Under the earnest expectation of these parents, the Fudan-Vanke Experimental School had set up a unique international bilingual program, which is known as C Program.


Through nine years of educational practice, most students in grade 6 have mastered listening, speaking, reading and writing skills of both Chinese and English. According to historical tests, the students' Chinese level rank top in the Minhang District, Shanghai and their skills of English listening, speaking, reading and writing are higher than the average level of the same grade American students. In 2014, a junior girl attended the TOEFL test and attained an absolute high score of 119 points. A seventh grade boy transfered from public school has made great progress. His English listening, speaking, reading and writing ability has exceed the average American high school students when he attended the ITBS tests at ninth grade. What is more, the Junior high school students repeatedly won in the nationwide and US high school English debate competitions.


In terms of curriculum innovation, we combined the essence of Chinese and western education inside and outside the classroom. The students become the real masters of learning. Theme activities like Science Week, Book Week, Art Festival, History Day, Chinese Week, English Week help to arouse the children’s curiosity, creativity and practical ability. And the activities like Walkathon, Running for Love and Charity Sale help to inspire the children’s coexisted nature of kindness and responsibility.


The school also has a distinctive feature. That is high grade students teach little students. Everyone in grade six to nine has the opportunity to use their own written materials to teach primary school students. In this way, the students can cultivate their ability of active learning, information searching, editing, exploring, presentation as well as communicating in different age groups.


In September 2016, the Shanghai Vanke Bilingual School will usher in a new semester. We will adhere to combining eastern and western education essence and inspiring the unlimited potential of our students. We will also devote to forming creative curriculum by overhauling and upgrading the original International Bilingual C Program. The new school will not only reserve the original high standard bilingual curriculum but also develop new programs, such as STEAM courses, sports and art, etc., aiming to cultivate students' critical thinking and creative ability. At the same time, we will expand the extracurricular activities, forming a unique bilingual and multicultural curriculum.


Our goal is to build the world's best private bilingual school, create a sound and fruitful life for our children.


We not only focus on the nine years’ learning experience of the students, but also the comprehensively balanced personality, ability of lifelong learning, as well as innovatively pioneering spirit in order to help the children to lay a solid foundation for a healthy and abundant life. Elementary school and junior high school is the critical period to develop this foundation. We will lead the children to feel the beauty of the world and the universe. Through various charitable activities and community service opportunities, we aim to help them establish lofty aspirations, and courage to shoulder social responsibility.


In addition, what is more important is that if you choose Vanke Bilingual School for your children, you will be immersed in a borderless "Little United Nations". You will have the opportunity to study with the students from nearly 20 countries and regions, including the United States, Canada, Britain, Singapore, South Korea, Hong Kong, Macao, Taiwan and Mainland China. During the cross-cultural and cross-border communication, they will learn mutual respect, understanding and tolerance. I wish all the students in Shanghai Vanke Bilingual School the frontrunners in the beautiful future!


School Contact : +86 (21) 6221-6956

+86 (21) 6221-0565

School Address: No.3568,Qixin

Road,Minhang District,Shanghai,China

© 2015 All Rights Reserved Copyright: Shanghai Vanke bilingualism
  • VKBS

  • DTD Group

  • Extra curriculars

×

上海万科双语学校总校长 陈舒

从一个课程,到一所全球最优秀的中英双语学校

作为一校之长和一名经历国内外教育的24岁男生的家长,我深深感受到,为孩子择校是人生中最重要的决定之一。每位家长都希望给孩子找寻一所提供卓越学术环境,尊重孩子个性差异,帮助他们在体力、智力、道德、精神上激发无限潜能的优质学校。

 

我本人毕业于上海外国语大学对外汉语系,先在日本学校、美国学校工作了七年。1996年平和双语学校创办,我主要从事英语课程及双语课程的设计和实施。2001年,进入金苹果双语学校,担任副校长,开始接触行政工作。2003年,进入复旦万科实验学校担任副校长,主要负责小班化课程、国际课程的开发和建设。

 

在学术方面,我一直在找寻最大限度开发学生语言潜能的方法。2005年,一群海归家长找到我,希望可以创立一套结合东西方教育精华的国际课程,实现中英双母语教学,培养真正的国际化人才。在家长的殷切盼望下,复旦万科实验学校开设了独特的中英文并重的国际课程C班。

 

通过9年实践,大部分孩子在6年级时能达到“双母语”。根据历史测试显示,学生的中文水平,在闵行区名列前茅;英语听说读写能力均高于美国同年级学生平均水平。2014年,一名初二女生裸考托福,获119分的绝对高分。一位从公立学校7年级转学来的男生,9年级时参加ITBS测试,英语听说读写能力,已超美国高中生的平均水平。

 

初中的孩子们参加全国乃至全美高中生的英语辩论赛,屡屡获得殊荣。

 

在课程创新方面,复旦万科实验学校的双语国际课程,摒弃了枯燥机械式的记忆训练,课堂内外,中西教育精髓得以充分融合。学生成了学习真正的主人,科学周、读书日、艺术节、历史日、中文周、英文周等主题活动,将孩子的好奇心、创造力和动手能力激发出来。行走马拉松、为爱奔跑、慈善义卖等活动又激发了孩子们善良与责任并存的本性。

 

学校还有一个特色,就是让学生教学生。初中六年级至九年级的学生,每个人都有机会用自己编写的教材给小学生上课,以此培养主动学习能力、信息搜索能力、编辑能力、探究能力、演讲能力,以及和不同年龄人群的沟通能力。这些都是一般课堂上学不到的。

 

即将在2016年9月开学的上海万科双语学校将秉承东西教育精髓融合的教育理念,激发无限潜能的教育宗旨,对原国际双语C班课程进行全面修整和提升,形成独创的课程体系,既保留原高标准的中英双语课程,又新开设旨在培养学生批判性思维和创造能力的智慧课程、STEAM课程、体艺类课程等。

 

同时课外活动板块将得到更多的拓展,形成独特的双语多文化综合课程。

 

我们的目标是建立一所全球最优秀的民办中英双语学校,为孩子创造健康丰盛的人生!

 

我们的着眼点,不仅是孩子的九年学习生涯,更希望培养孩子全面平衡的个性、终生学习的能力、以及创新领跑的精神,为未来拥有健康而丰富的人生打下基础。小学和初中正是这个基础养成的关键期。我们将带领孩子感受世界和万物之美,通过丰富的慈善公益活动和社区服务机会,帮助他们建立起高远的志向,承担社会责任的勇气。

 

另外,非常重要的一点是,就读万科双语学校,您的孩子将沉浸在无边界的“小联合国”,和来自美国、加拿大、英国、新加坡、韩国、港澳台、中国大陆等近20个国家和地区的学生一起学习,在跨文化跨国界的交流中,学会尊重、理解与包容。祝愿所有上海万科双语的孩子,都会成为未来美好世界的领跑者!

 

学校总机:
021-62216956 ,021-62210565
学校地址:
上海市闵行区七莘路3568号
电子邮箱:
adm_vkbs@dtd-edu.cn
© 2015 All Rights Reserved 版权所有:上海万科双语
  • 万科双语学校

  • 德英乐教育

  • 素质课程中心